III 6. Maintain Roles

A.     Create New Role:

  1. Navigate to PeopleTools à Securityà Permissions & Roles à
  2. On the search page, click Add a New Value.
  3. In the Role Name edit box, enter the name of Role to create and click Add.
  4. In the General Tab, add the appropriate description for the role name. Use the long description text box to document the access granted and other information for future reference.
  5. Save the role.

 

B.     Copy Role:

  1. Navigate to PeopleTools>> Security>> Permissions & Roles>> Copy Roles.
  2. On the search page, enter the name of the Role you want to copy and click search.
  3. The Role Save As page appears.
  4. On the Role Save As page, enter a new name in the “To:” field for the role that you want to copy.
  5. Click Save.

 

C.      Delete Role:

  1. Navigate to PeopleTools>> Security >> Permissions & Roles>> Delete Roles.
  2. On the search page, enter the name of the Role you want to delete and click search.
  3. The Delete Role page appears.
  4. Click Delete Role button.
  5. Click OK to confirm the deletion.

** You will receive a warning if the role being deleted is assigned to any users. You will be able to delete the role by clicking OK on the warning. Once the role is deleted, it will be removed from all user profiles that it was previously assigned to.